Tags

, , , , , ,

“Every run is different.”

I am told that statement after almost every run from one of my closest friends, M.  M just ran her first half marathon and is running in a relay this weekend from Madison to Chicago.  She has been a big motivator. In fact, she has been asking me to run with her since I started training.  Before, I was scared- she is in better shape, has a faster pace and I have never been able to run with anyone before.

I finally ran with M tonight. She told me to set the pace. I am a people-pleaser, so I kept up with her pace. I ran my fastest mile 11:16.  I struggled the rest of the run, but I was motivated  by M to keep going.

I think having someone to push you is a great thing, but you need to know your pace and what you can do. If you push yourself too hard, you can get hurt. Thankfully, M understands that I am a beginner and am working hard to get to where I want to be.

I am excited to start running and half-marathon training with Sarah soon. Hopefully, we can push each other the way M has been pushing me.

